Historic Preservation Commission Awards

For more than 25 years, the City of Aspen’s Historic Preservation Commission has presented its annual awards to recognize projects that make an outstanding contribution to historic preservation in Aspen, and to thank those responsible.

2020 & 2021 Historic Preservation Awards

This year the Historic Preservation Commission honors four historical preservation projects and one individual for their efforts in preserving Aspen's history.

Historical Preservation Projects

541 Race includes two sets of log cabins on the property. 541 Race Alley: Originally built in 1964 as rental units and named Line Shack #1 and Line Shack #2, this home is comprised of two log cabins. Landmark designated as an example of the type of modest housing developed in response to Aspen’s post-World War II growth, the cabins are now linked together with a minimal glass hallway to function as a single-family home. The cabins have been modestly expanded with new living space that is focused on a minimally visible walkout basement and a garage addition which allow the cabins to be appreciated for their historically small scale. Recognition for this successful project is given to:

  •     John Morton (Developer)
  •     Willis Pember Architects (Architecture, Interior Architecture)
  •     Rudd Construction (General Contractor)
  •     Lift Studio (Landscape Architecture)
  •     Kristin Dittmar Design (Interior Design)
  •     Evolve Structural Design (Structural Engineering)
  •     Woody Creek Engineering (Civil Engineering)
  •     Climate Control (Mechanical Engineering)
  •     Bailey House Movers

301 E Hopkins is a 1890 miner's cabin. 301 E. Hopkins:This 1890 building is one of a handful of miner’s cottages in the commercial core that has been successfully preserved in the midst of larger surrounding structures. Over its lifetime, it has housed many businesses.The cottage was almost lost to demolition in the 1990s but instead was prominently placed at the corner of Hopkins and Monarch. Throughout 2019 and 2020, a series of repairs were made to the exterior of the building that greatly improved its condition and reopening as the charming Bear Den Café. 301 E. Hopkins is a great example of the potential for landmarks to be adapted to new uses that highlight historic character. Congratulations to:

  •     Alia Joonas and Bridger Smith (Owners)
  •    Jimmy Marcus, Ute City Advisors (Developer)
  •    CCY Architects (Architect)
  •    Brikor Associates (General Contractor) 
  •   BendonAdams (Planner)

223 E. Hallam is a Queen Anne-style Victorian that is two stories and blue.  223 E. Hallam: A Queen Anne-style Victorian built in the early 1890s, this house was purchased by the beloved Aspen photographer, Ferenc Berko, and family in 1957, and remained their home for more than 50 years. Prior to the Berko ownership, a few significant changes were made to the house, most notably a one-story addition on the front of the house that destroyed the original character-defining porch. After extensive study of maps and physical evidence on the site, the home has been carefully restored, including excellent craftsmanship to repair the original windows, stone foundation, and chimneys. This award is presented to:

  •     Kim Raymond Architecture + Interiors
  •     Koru Limited (General Contractor)
  •     Suarez Masonry, LLC
  •     Aspen Preservation Company (Restoration)
  •     Bob Gilbert (Paint)
  •     Alexander Roofing (Cedar Roof Restoration)
  •     LOA Carpentry (Porch Restoration)
  •     Grizzly Creek (Porch Restoration)

124 W Hallam is a Queen Anne-style Victorian that is white.124 W. Hallam: Built in 1887, this Queen Anne-style house was so enveloped with additions over its history that it was proposed by a previous owner to be dropped from the historic preservation program and demolished. Instead, a new owner and team undertook an extensive and heavily researched restoration, carefully peeled back the alterations, revealing original features that had been covered up, and used photos and physical evidence to accurately reconstruct missing elements such as the front porch. The addition is a great example of how historic resources can be complemented by a simple, but modern addition. Thank you to:

  •     Stage Fine Homes (Developer)
  •      Ro | Rockett Design (Architect)
  •      Koru Limited (General Contractor)
  •      Elements, Inc. (Landscape Architect)
  •      KL&A (Structural Engineer)

Elizabeth Paepcke AwardAnn Mullins has short great hair and warm eyes

The Elizabeth Paepcke Award is not presented every year and is reserved for long-time preservation leaders who have demonstrated a commitment to historic preservation that has a clear impact on Aspen. 

The 2021 recipient of the Elizabeth Paepcke Award is Ann Mullins.  

Ann served two terms on Aspen City Council, as well as six years as a member and chair of the Historic Preservation Commission. As Chair, Ann helped support and improve dozens of important preservation projects throughout Aspen by offering her significant professional expertise as a landscape architect. Ann served on the two-year Historic Preservation Task Force that shaped the Aspen Modern designation program for mid-century resources, and she continues to advance that topic through her work with the state chapter of DOCOMO, an organization aimed at recognition and preservation of landmarks representing the recent past.

Further, Ann developed a very popular walking tour of the Aspen Institute which showcases the design history of the campus with hundreds of participants each summer. She is the proud steward of her own landmark designated miner’s cottage, affectionately known as “The Pink House,” and received a Historic Preservation Award in 2011 for the beautifully designed detached art studio that she added to her property. 

We thank Ann Mullins for her valuable leadership in historic preservation.

Historic Preservation Commission Award Nominations

For more information about the Historic Preservation Commission Award process, contact Historic Preservation Officer, Natalie Feinberg-Lopez.